Reformed Episcopal Church

Cummins Theological Seminary
For more information on the Reformed Episcopal Church, visit The Reformed Episcopal Church.
For more information on the Diocese of the Southeast-REC, visit The Diocese of the Southeast.


An Overview of the REC

The Reformed Episcopal Church was organized in New York City in 1873 by eight clergymen and twenty laymen who were formerly presbyters and members of the Protestant Episcopal Church. Some in the latter quarter of the 19th Century concluded that their beloved Protestant Episcopal Church had so dramatically changed that they had no alternative but to preserve the old Church through reorganization. The immediate cause of the division lay in the participation of The Rt. Rev. George David Cummins, Assistant Bishop of the Diocese of Kentucky in the Protestant Episcopal Church, (pictured above) at a Communion Service held in the Fifth Avenue Presbyterian Church in New York City. In the face of criticism and with the conviction that the evangelical and catholic nature and mission of the Protestant Episcopal Church were being lost, Bishop Cummins issued a call to re-form the church. He became the founding Bishop of the Reformed Episcopal Church, thereby maintaining historic succession of orders to this very day in the Reformed Episcopal Church.

Within six months of its founding in 1873, the REC grew to about 1,500 communicants, two bishops and 15 other ministers.  In 1875, over 500 African American Protestant Episcopal communicants in South Carolina's Low Country joined the REC as a group.


The Book of Common Prayer

This is the liturgical book of the Reformed Episcopal Church containing Orders of Service, Prayers, The Revised Common Lectionary, Administration of Sacraments, Rites and Special Services.  Click the photo above to review the Book of Common Prayer online.